Windows Server 2008 on Dell 1747: Hyper-V BSOD – Fixed

UPDATE – SP1 for Windows Server 2008 R2 fixes the BSOD on high performance, I can only assume that work on RemoteFX to enable performance graphics over TS meant that embarassing crashes for servers with high performance graphics were no longer acceptable.

So, time to get Hyper-V and WS2008 R2 on my Dell. Booted up with a DVD in the drive, trying to add the OS as a VHD at the command prompt has no joy. Shift-Fn-F10 didn’t work, had to reboot and change Fn key behaviour in the BIOS (a bit irritating).

My 1747 has 2 x 500Gb HD’s, and I have WinXpSP3 installed on the primary partition of (what i thought was…) disk00, however, it seems that the seconf HDD is now disk00, and my WinXP/Win7 install is on disk01. This means that my Win7 C: partition is actually E: on boot, a bit unusual.

There are a few decent sites out there regarding WS2008 as a laptop o/s, see http://www.win2008workstation.com/ as a first stop

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/vijaysk/archive/2008/02/11/using-windows-server-2008-as-a-super-desktop-os.aspx

http://bryantlikes.com/SwitchingToWindowsServer2008OnMyLaptop.aspx

Walkthrough

After the usual password and naming work, I need internet access to run windows update, so Open Server Manager and add Feature Wireless LAN Service. Enable remote access and remote management to make it all easier. Of course I forgot I needed the driver from Dell

I’m never happy with defaul drive naming (C: D: E: etc) and I always mount my additional drivers as \disknn consistently across a multiboot evironment; this also makes it consistently easy to create vhd’s across drives. I had to disable the paging file on drive D: before I could unmount and rename the drive.

Run Windows Update (36 essential, 3 optional updates)

Installed the Desktop Experience thru Features

Switched off CTL-ALT-DEL at logon

Turn off Shutdown Tracker

Run netplwiz from Start to autologon

Optimise Application Performance

Enable Sound, Install Search

For me, MagicDisc is an essential, especially as I want to install Forefront Client Security from an iso. This simple little app let’s you mount any disk image as a drive, very nice (PS I always change my physical DVD to Z: and MagicDisc to Y:)

Installed Hyper-V role and got a very nasty blue screen of death, restarting in Safe Mode to see what’s happening

UPDATE – should have been aware of this, widely reported Hyper-V and Video problem on WS2008

Looks like I can’t get the vieo driver uninstalled, so I’ll rebuild (annoying) and try out the beta of SP1 for WS2008 R2

0 Responses to “Windows Server 2008 on Dell 1747: Hyper-V BSOD – Fixed”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

jzedward’s tweets


