SBS7 – Small Business Server preview

The public preview of SBS7 was made available for download via Connect on Sep 21st. I was planning to install a Small Business Sever at home, plus SharePoint 2010, but was put off SBS 2008 as it features Exchange 2007 rather than 2010 (2010 has a far superior web interface).

The DVD is a 6Gb download, but I’d recommend an 8Gb USB stick and the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool to install on a physical server.

I am, of course, installing first on a virtual machine, assigning a 137Gb dynamic disk and 6Gb of memory (Vail and Windows7 will have to be turned off on my 8Gb Q6600 server).

On my server, I’ve noticed (now that I’ve reconnected a monitor) that I’m getting annoying screen flashes – this is a result of having the ‘base’ VGA video driver. This was a stroke of luck, as if I’d installed the NVidia driver, Hyper-V would have crashed. I reckon I’ll need to install the WS2008 R2 SP1 beta to fix it.

The server will be on the public internet, and BT’s static IP address assignment is pretty opaque. There is a half decent post here and an excellent diagram here . In the end, it’s in the router LAN address assignment, and needs to be set to public, with an address assigned. One day I’ll get it working with my Belkin N+ router…

Finally, there seems to be lots of marketing speak about SBS7 but not a lot about what’s actually in it eg does it have ISA? I’ll aim to fix that over the next few days.

UPDATE – pretty disappointed to find that I can’t assign a public IP address to SBS, maybe I should have known that from SBS2008, but I’d hoped to put the server on a public address for remote access. I’ll come back to assign a private address and do some testing later.

1 Response to “SBS7 – Small Business Server preview”


  1. 1 Leon July 22, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as
    long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours and my
    visitors would truly benefit from a lot of the information you
    provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Thanks a lot!


Leave a Reply

jzedward’s tweets


